There has never been a better time to enter the real estate industry.

The first step toward a career in real estate is to become licensed. 

To be licensed in Ohio:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age to get a real estate license in Ohio.

  • High School Graduate or equivalent

  • Complete 120 hours of the following Ohio Pre-Licensing Courses:​

    • Real Estate Principles​ (40 Hours)

    • Real Estate Law (40 Hours)

    • Real Estate Finance (20 Hours)

    • Real Estate Appraisal (20 Hours)

  • License Exam Requirements- the candidate must pass a two part license exam with a minimum score of 70% on each part.

  • You must have a clean record and have not been convicted of a felony.

  • You must be sponsored by an established Ohio Real Estate Broker

For an Ohio Real Estate license, you are required to be honest, truthful and of good reputation. You must be at least 18 years old and be sponsored by an Ohio Broker.

 

You may not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude or have violated any civil laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application.

 

For additional information on this process, contact the Division directly or review additional information found on the Division's website. You are also required to have a high school diploma or its equivalent as recongized by the Ohio department of Education if you were born after 1950. Lastly, you must have met the education requirements.

© 2018 Courtesy of Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices The Preferred Realty

Information provided considered, reliable but not guaranteed.